Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

We Are Lost and Found

ebook

From "the queen of heartbreaking prose" (Paste) Helene Dunbar, We Are Lost and Found is a young adult realistic fiction novel in the vein of The Perks of Being a Wallflower about three friends coming-of-age against the backdrop of the AIDS crisis in the early 1980s.

Michael is content to live in the shadow of his best friends, James and Becky. Plus, his brother, Connor, has already been kicked out of the house for being gay and laying low seems to be Michael's only chance at avoiding the same fate.

To pass the time before graduation, Michael hangs out at The Echo where he can dance and forget about his father's angry words, the pressures of school, and the looming threat of AIDS, a disease that everyone is talking about, but no one understands.

Then he meets Gabriel, a boy who actually sees him. A boy who, unlike seemingly everyone else in New York City, is interested in him and not James. And Michael has to decide what he's willing to risk to be himself.

This book is perfect for:

  • Readers who want stories centering gay boys coming of age
  • Parents and educators looking for realistic historical fiction for teens
  • Fans of Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, and Stephen Chbosky
  • Praise for We Are Lost and Found:
    "Dunbar painstakingly populates the narrative with 1980s references—particularly to music—creating a vivid historical setting... A painful but ultimately empowering queer history lesson."—Kirkus Reviews
    "It's a certain type of magic that Helene Dunbar managed with this story... A hauntingly beautiful, yet scarring story that captures the struggles of figuring out who you are while facing the uncertainties of the world, a story that should be mandatory reading for all."—The Nerd Daily
    "We Are Lost and Found absolutely sparkles... she so perfectly, so evocatively captures the angst, uncertainty, and shaky self-confidence of adolescence that it might make you wince."—Echo Magazine

    Optioned for a major motion picture adaptation by Nikolaj Coster-Waldau's production company, Ill Kippers!


    Expand title description text
    Publisher: Sourcebooks
    Awards:

    Kindle Book

    • Release date: September 3, 2019

    OverDrive Read

    • ISBN: 9781492681052
    • Release date: September 3, 2019

    EPUB ebook

    • ISBN: 9781492681052
    • File size: 1914 KB
    • Release date: September 3, 2019

    Loading
    Loading

    Formats

    Kindle Book
    OverDrive Read
    EPUB ebook

    Languages

    English

    Levels

    Lexile® Measure:770
    Text Difficulty:3-4

    From "the queen of heartbreaking prose" (Paste) Helene Dunbar, We Are Lost and Found is a young adult realistic fiction novel in the vein of The Perks of Being a Wallflower about three friends coming-of-age against the backdrop of the AIDS crisis in the early 1980s.

    Michael is content to live in the shadow of his best friends, James and Becky. Plus, his brother, Connor, has already been kicked out of the house for being gay and laying low seems to be Michael's only chance at avoiding the same fate.

    To pass the time before graduation, Michael hangs out at The Echo where he can dance and forget about his father's angry words, the pressures of school, and the looming threat of AIDS, a disease that everyone is talking about, but no one understands.

    Then he meets Gabriel, a boy who actually sees him. A boy who, unlike seemingly everyone else in New York City, is interested in him and not James. And Michael has to decide what he's willing to risk to be himself.

    This book is perfect for:

  • Readers who want stories centering gay boys coming of age
  • Parents and educators looking for realistic historical fiction for teens
  • Fans of Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, and Stephen Chbosky
  • Praise for We Are Lost and Found:
    "Dunbar painstakingly populates the narrative with 1980s references—particularly to music—creating a vivid historical setting... A painful but ultimately empowering queer history lesson."—Kirkus Reviews
    "It's a certain type of magic that Helene Dunbar managed with this story... A hauntingly beautiful, yet scarring story that captures the struggles of figuring out who you are while facing the uncertainties of the world, a story that should be mandatory reading for all."—The Nerd Daily
    "We Are Lost and Found absolutely sparkles... she so perfectly, so evocatively captures the angst, uncertainty, and shaky self-confidence of adolescence that it might make you wince."—Echo Magazine

    Optioned for a major motion picture adaptation by Nikolaj Coster-Waldau's production company, Ill Kippers!


    Expand title description text